“The Invisible Religion” by T. Lukman: the origins of the concept and the possibility of using it for the analysis of contemporary Russian Orthodoxy (within the framework of the program of PSTGU Development Foundation in 2018-2020)

projectPROJECT: “The Invisible Religion” by T. Lukman: the origins of the concept and the possibility of using it for the analysis of contemporary Russian Orthodoxy

FUNDING: within the framework of the program of PSTGU Development Foundation in 2018-2020

PROJECT COORDINATOR: Elena Prutskova

RESEARCH TEAM: Kirill Markin, Krikhtova Tatiana, Zueva Anna

DURATION OF THE PROJECT: 2018 – 2020

ABOUT THE PROJECT

The scientific problem, which our research project aims to solve, is the absence of an approach in the Russian sociology of religion that allows identifying and interpreting the essential characteristics of religiosity of the non-churched Orthodox Christians, distinguishing them from the characteristics of the religiosity of the churched Orthodox. Now these characteristics are interpreted only in the “negative” regime – they are described through the absence of a number of religious practices. We propose to try to translate these interpretations into a “positive” regime, suggesting the presence of the essential component of such religiosity.

METHODOLOGY

Within the framework of the project, it is planned to organize a regular seminar, during which we will discuss the key texts on the research problem. The thematic core of the seminar will be the approach of T. Luckmann, its sources and developments. We assume that Luckmann’s approach is capable of solving both the problems associated with the interpretation the non-practicing Orthodox Christian’s religiosity, and the problems associated with the impossibility of coexistence of religion and modern society, which makes applying it to the analysis of modern Russian Orthodox Christianity potentially fruitful. The results of the seminar should be the selected categories and hypotheses for constructing a theoretical sample and coding in-depth interviews. The empirical part of the project will consist of a series of in-depth biographical interviews with representatives of various types of Orthodox Christian religiosity (30 interviews). This research will be based on the Grounded Theory research strategy.

RELEVANT NEWS

Sociology of Religion researchers participated in the Annual Theological Conference at PSTGU, 20 December 2019 >>>

Researchers of the “Sociology of Religion” took part in the 35th conference of the International Society for the Sociology of Religion at the University of Barcelona >>>

Laboratory fellows participated in the international conference ”Religion and Communication” in Minsk, 18-20 April 2019 >>>

Seminars

семинар

“The Invisible Religion” by T. Lukman: the origins of the concept >>>

«Невидимая религия» Т. Лукмана: истоки концепции и возможности применения для анализа современного русского православия. (в рамках Программы научных исследований Фонда развития ПСТГУ в 2018 – 2020 гг.)

projectПРОЕКТ: «Невидимая религия» Т. Лукмана: истоки концепции и возможности применения для анализа современного русского православия

ФИНАНСИРОВАНИЕ: Исследование осуществляется в рамках Программы научных исследований Фонда развития ПСТГУ в 2018 – 2020 годах

РУКОВОДИТЕЛЬ ПРОЕКТА: Елена Пруцкова

УЧАСТНИКИ ПРОЕКТА: Кирилл Маркин, Крихтова Татьяна, Зуева Анна

СРОКИ ПРОЕКТА: 2018 – 2020

ОБ ИССЛЕДОВАНИИ

Научной проблемой, на решение которой направлено наше исследование, является отсутствие в российской социологии религии подхода, позволяющего выявлять и интерпретировать сущностные характеристики религиозности православных, которые не полностью включены в церковную жизнь, отличая их от характеристик религиозности воцерковленных православных. Сейчас эти характеристики интерпретируются лишь в режиме отрицания – описываются через отсутствие ряда религиозных практик. Мы предлагаем попытаться перевести эти интерпретации в «позитивный» режим, предполагающий нахождение сущностных признаков такой религиозности.

МЕТОДОЛОГИЯ ИССЛЕДОВАНИЯ

В рамках проекта планируется организация регулярного семинара, на котором будут разбираться ключевые тексты, посвященные проблеме исследования. Тематическим стержнем семинара станет подход Т. Лукмана, его истоки и развитие. Мы предполагаем, что подход Лукмана способен решить как проблемы, связанные с интерпретацией религиозности непрактикующих православных, так и проблемы, связанные с невозможностью сосуществования религии и модерна, что обусловливает актуальность попытки применить этот подход к анализу современного русского православия. Результатом работы семинара должны стать выделенные категории и гипотезы для построения теоретической выборки и кодирования глубинных интервью. Эмпирическая часть проекта будет представлять собой серию глубинных биографических интервью с представителями различных типов православной религиозности (30 интервью). В основе данного исследования будет лежать исследовательская стратегия обоснованной теории (Grounded Theory).

Семинары

семинар

«Невидимая религия» Т. Лукмана: истоки концепции >>>