Holy Saturday: An opinion poll in the temples of the Eastern Vicariate of Moscow on the 30th of April 2016

3647957PROJECT: Holy Saturday: An opinion poll in the temples of the Eastern Vicariate of Moscow

DURATION OF THE PROJECT: 2016

Research team: Emelyanov Nikolay, Zabaev Ivan, Oreshina Daria, Prutskova Elena, Melkumyan Elena, Nadezhdina Evgenyia, Belianin Alexis, Batanova Polina, Markin Kirill, Krihtova Tatiana, Alexin Cyrill, Kozmina Yana, Lokteva Yana.

ABOUT THE PROJECT
On Saturday before Easter – the Holy Saturday – the Orthodox churches are overcrowded and experience such an influx of people, that doesn’t happen on any other day of the year. On this day, many Orthodox believers go to church for the blessing of Easter cakes and eggs. To do this, people are willing to stand in queues for hours, even in bad weather, experiencing a variety of inconveniences. We can therefore assume that this event has an important place in the life of an Orthodox believer. The main goal of our research is to identify social types of people who come to church on the eve of Easter for the blessing of Easter cakes and eggs. Who are these people? Why do so many come for the blessing of cakes, but do not participate in church services, do not confess and receive Holy Communion? What Easter means to them? What place does this holiday take among other holidays? This is only a partial list of questions which our research is to answer.

On the 30th of April 2016, on Holy Saturday, the “Sociology of Religion” Research Laboratory conducted an opinion poll of people who came to the blessing of Easter cakes and eggs in the churches of the Eastern Vicariate of Moscow. The survey covers 31 temple of the Eastern Vicariate. In total, more than 60 thousand people came to these temples on the day of Holy Saturday in 2016. More than 250 volunteers were handing out questionnaires to those who stood in the queue for the blessing of Easter cakes. The total survey sample size was 13 170 people.

RELEVANT PUBLICATIONS

Prutskova Elena. 2017. "Easter cakes and / or Eucharist: Factors of choosing the ways to prepare for Easter among Orthodox Christian believers." Religion and History: Papers of the V International Scientific Conference, April 20-22, 2017, 253-258, Minsk, Republic of Belarus: Ed. S.I. Shatravsky. Minsk: BSU Publishing Center.

Bishop Panteleimon (Shatov). 2017. "How to help people who comes on Holy Saturday to become parishioners." Shepherd, Workshop, 24.02.2017.

Melkumyan Elena. 2017. "Social portraits of Orthodox believers (based on the survey «Holy Saturday: An opinion poll in the temples of the Eastern Vicariate of Moscow»)." Religion and History: Papers of the V International Scientific Conference, April 20-22, 2017, 259-264, Minsk, Republic of Belarus: Ed. S.I. Shatravsky. Minsk: BSU Publishing Center.

Nadezhdina Evgenyia. 2016. "Project "The Holy Saturday" (in russian)." PSTBI: News.

RELEVANT NEWS

Screenshot_2

25th April Anna Zueva and Tatiana Krihtova resented at the annual conference in memory of Y. Levada >>>

pasted image 0

Researchers of the “Sociology of Religion” laboratory at PSTGU took part in the V International scientific-practical conference “Religion and History” (April 20-22, 2017, Minsk, Republic of Belarus) >>>

ВС_2016

On the 12th of December Elena Prutskova presented a report at the Synodal Department for Church Charity and Social Service >>>

8c132d023f5f46d995fe11acfb681477

Presentation of the research project “Holy Saturday” >>>

RESEARCH REPORTS

Screenshot_1

Main results of the “Holy Saturday: An opinion poll in the temples of the Eastern Vicariate of Moscow” survey >>>

Великая Суббота: Социологический опрос в храмах Восточного викариатства города Москвы 30 апреля 2016 года

3647957Проект: Великая Суббота: Социологический опрос в храмах Восточного викариатства города Москвы
Сроки проекта: 2016

Сотрудничество: Синодальный отдел по Церковной Благотворительности и Социальному Служению (ОЦБСС) РПЦ

Участники исследования: Емельянов Николай, Забаев Иван, Орешина Дарья, Пруцкова Елена, Мелкумян Елена, Надеждина Евгения, Белянин Алексей, Батанова Полина, Маркин Кирилл, Крихтова Татьяна, Алексин Кирилл, Козьмина Яна, Локтева Яна.

ОБ ИССЛЕДОВАНИИ
В субботу перед Пасхой – Великую Субботу – православные храмы переполнены и переживают такой наплыв людей, какого не бывает ни в один другой день в году. В этот день многие православные верующие идут в храм для того, чтобы освятить куличи и окрашенные яйца. Для этого люди готовы стоять в многочасовых очередях, даже в непогоду, испытывая различные неудобства. Поэтому можно предположить, что данное событие занимает важное место в жизни православного верующего. Основная цель нашего исследования состоит в выявлении социальных типов людей, приходящих перед Пасхой в храм, чтобы освятить яйца и куличи. Кто эти люди? Почему многие идут на освящение куличей, но при этом не участвуют в церковных службах, не исповедуются и не причащаются? Что для них значит Пасха? Какое место этот праздник занимает в ряду других праздников? Вот неполный список вопросов, на который отвечает наше исследование.
30 апреля 2016 г., в Великую Субботу, Научной лабораторией «Социология религии» Православного Свято-Тихоновского гуманитарного университета был проведен социологический опрос людей, пришедших на освящение куличей в храмы Восточного викариатства г. Москвы. Опрос охватывает 31 храм Восточного викариатства. Всего в эти храмы в день Великой Субботы в 2016 г. пришли более 60 тысяч человек. Более 250 добровольцев раздавали анкеты тем, кто стоял в очереди на освящение куличей. Общий объем выборки опроса составил 13 170 человек.

В скором времени на сайте будут опубликованы данные опроса в разделе “Цифры и факты”.

ПУБЛИКАЦИИ ПО ТЕМЕ

Епископ Пантелеимон (Шатов). 2017. "Как помочь людям, приходящим в Великую Субботу, стать постоянными прихожанами." Пастырь, Семинар, 24.02.2017.

Надеждина Евгения. 2016. "Проект «Великая Суббота»." ПСТБИ: Новости.

Новости по теме

Screenshot_2

25 апреля Анна Зуева и Татьяна Крихтова выступили на ежегодной конференции памяти Ю. Левады >>>

pasted image 0

Сотрудники научной лаборатории “Социология религии” ПСТГУ приняли участие в V международной научно-практической конференции “Религия и История” (20–22 апреля 2017, Минск, Республика Беларусь) >>>

ВС_2016

12 декабря Елена Пруцкова представила доклад в Синодальном отделе по Церковной благотворительности и социальному служению >>>

8c132d023f5f46d995fe11acfb681477

Представление исследовательского проекта “Великая суббота” >>>

Цифры и факты

Screenshot_1

Отчет по результатам исследования «Великая Суббота: Социологический опрос в храмах Восточного викариатства г. Москвы» >>>